PDA

View Full Version : Aikido stances

Please visit our sponsor:

Aikidonewbie
09-07-2009, 06:02 PM
I am a beginner of Aikido and the thing that I get most confused on is the correct stance to take. I constantly forget which leg goes forward, and then when I am Nagi, I forget which side to move to after Uke attacks. Is there a predictable sequence of events when one is in a ai-hanmi stance or gyako-hanmi stance?

ninjaqutie
09-07-2009, 07:51 PM
It really depends on the attack. It just takes time to get things down. :) I was rather confused at first as well. In fact, I still am at times!

Shadowfax
09-07-2009, 09:00 PM
Don't sweat it. Even more seasoned students make these kinds of mistakes. I get my feet confused all the time. Its just a part of the process.

In the beginning its all confusing. Just enjoy the experience and don't worry about making mistakes or getting it right the first time. Aikido is a lifetime study. Go, train, think less and just do. Sooner or later it does begin to make sense. ;)

eyrie
09-07-2009, 09:10 PM
It kinda depends on what you're trying to do... which at your level probably means what technique you're attempting to do. At a fundamental level, it's all about managing your spatial relationship with another person.

As to WHICH foot to step forward with, and where to put WHICH foot, it's much easier to show this in person. Either your seniors or your instructors should be able to explain and show to you.

Janet Rosen
09-07-2009, 11:45 PM
Just remember....it's usually your other left foot you need to move {grin...just kididng} - seriously, it's a problem for many of us when we start and the only cure is showing up and practicing!

Darryl Cowens
09-08-2009, 12:01 AM