PDA

View Full Version : Dai Zhi Qiang introduction

Please visit our sponsor:

Dai Zhi Qiang
06-22-2009, 09:25 PM
Hi,

My name is Jon Dyer, I am 32 years old and come from Wellington, New Zealand.

I been practising various types of martial arts for the past 18 years or so and from the age of 18 have more or less concentrated on Chinese Kung Fu (Shaolin, Xing Yi Quan, Xin Yi Liu He Quan, etc).

I noticed on one of the threads there was a discussion on dan tian (tanden/ hara) and seen that someone had linked to my site (www,daixinyi.blogspot.com) so decided to come here and talk about some of our training methods and compare them with methods in Aikido/ Aikijiujitsu.

I am no expert in any shape or form, but are very passionate about the arts and like to share as much information as I have with people who are generally interested.

Metta

Jon Dyer aka Dai Zhi Qiang

jss
06-23-2009, 02:21 AM
Hi Jon,

Nice of you to stop by on this forum. Hopefully we can learn something from each other. So to get started, the first two questions I could think of:
1) What's according to you the function of the dantien? How do you train it?
2) What do you have people do in their first class of Dai Shi Xin Yi Quan?

oisin bourke
06-23-2009, 08:20 AM
Hi Jon,

Straight in with the Irimi! You don't practice Ono Ha Itto Ryu by any chance?:D

Hello Jon,

It was probably my post you came across.

I was especially interested in the quote below.

I’ve never had the pleasure to see your art in the flesh, as it were, and my knowledge of Chinese arts is limited, so my image is of a very compact, intense form of hsing I?

I included two video clips below of prominent aikido and aikijujutsu practicioners below.

There are lots of others worth commenting on, not least of the founder of Aikido himself, but, I couldn’t find an appropriate clip. I’m sure others will chime in.