PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of starting Aikido

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

ChuckP
04-06-2009, 04:10 PM
What are some of the things to expect in the beginning? Also anyone from Bucks county Aikido here?

MentalError
04-06-2009, 05:08 PM
The thing that really suprised me was the pain in the joints when I first started. It's mostly from doing bad ukemi. I'm still a newbie and that was from my personal experience. So I am pretty sure I am "qualify" to tell you this. :D

JRY
04-06-2009, 06:41 PM
its normal to be stiff when you just start out when someone puts a technique on you. eventually u learn to let go and go with the flow :)

It will seem like information overload and you've got 2 left feet when u just start. you can take it slow and learn where to put your hands and where to put your feet. pay close attention to what the sensei is doing and just follow the senior students.

don't forget to breathe when receiving technique and most importantly have fun!

There is no secret in Aikido, just training and more training :)

hope this helps

mathewjgano
04-06-2009, 07:08 PM
The thing that really suprised me was the pain in the joints when I first started. It's mostly from doing bad ukemi. I'm still a newbie and that was from my personal experience. So I am pretty sure I am "qualify" to tell you this. :D

That's a good one! I always get more bumps and bruises the more I let myself get rusty...which I'm particularly good at. I notice when I practice a lot of koho tento (a kind of rocking exercise on your back) and rolls from a sitting position, I do better at being round enough to roll comfortably; consistently.
P.S. Nice post, Jerry!

wideawakedreamer
04-06-2009, 09:11 PM

My experience was different: Didn't have joint pain, but I had trouble getting out of bed for a couple of days because my ab muscles were aching. This was due to a lot of forward and back rolls on my first class.

crbateman