PDA

View Full Version : O'sensei and his students...

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Skribbles
03-17-2009, 05:15 AM
im a total newb but it seems to me all the people who bash how effective aikido is or rather it'd work in a real fight are forgetting something? O'Sensai didnt take in newbs like myself (at least when he first started his art..maybe later on i dunno?) but from what i remember reading he only took people who were at least a blackbelt in another MA?

so my question is why would these people who had apparently spent years training in an art to be an effective fighter decide to train under someone who had an art that wasnt effective? and why would they stick with it if they didnt stand to gain something from it?

*shrugs*
justa newb tho so if someone could explain that to me...

gdandscompserv
03-17-2009, 08:18 AM
I don't think it's a question of whether O-sensei's aikido was effective or not. I think that's a given. Some just wonder if present day aikido is as effective as O-sensei's was.

mathewjgano
03-17-2009, 09:53 AM
so my question is why would these people who had apparently spent years training in an art to be an effective fighter decide to train under someone who had an art that wasnt effective? and why would they stick with it if they didnt stand to gain something from it?

*shrugs*
justa newb tho so if someone could explain that to me...

The best argument that makes sense to me is that it's like a copy of a copy of a copy of a copy...
Small deviations over time can add up to large differences down the line. Also, I think anything that becomes as popular as Aikido has become is going to "fluff" up a bit. "Aikido" is a big group of people.
...Plus i think of Aikido as an exercise in subtlety, and that means the potency isn't glaringly obvious at a glance. I know my first impression of Aikido was that much didn't look very real. Now I see some method to the madness.

Skribbles