PDA

View Full Version : applying aikido in real street fights

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

usn322
05-12-2008, 07:10 AM
hi i've been practicing aikido for almost 7 or 8 months now and i can't help but wonder and ask would my aikido work in the streets in real life situation? my point is that in aikido we train in stylized attacks like shomen, yokomen and katate you know the usual but how would a beginner aikidoist react to a jab,a right hook, kick, tackles and takedowns or how would would you defend yourself if somebody is holding a gun close to you. in other words, i just wanted to know the efficiency and effectivity of the art in real life scenarios. don't get me wrong i love aikido but i just wanted everybody's opinion. i would really appreciate it onegaishimasu!

gdandscompserv
05-12-2008, 07:43 AM
:eek:

rob_liberti
05-12-2008, 08:10 AM
Hello, and welcome to aikweb.

We continue to discuss this topic to death in a thead called something like "aikido does not work in a fight" and a bit more recently in some variant lke "fight does not work in aikido" and I'm sure there must be others.

I'll summarize my recollection of them so you can avoid 100 hours of reading through.

1st) aikido doesn't work in a fight
- yes it does
- no it doesn't
(continue that for a long while)

2nd) The solutions to the problem that stylized techniques on symbolic attacks which were designed to not work without tremendous depth come in
- it does work, you are just not training the True aikido like *I* do
(continue that line in the fashion of my dad can beat up your dad for a long while)
- i've already solved this problem in 1 of the following ways and now that I have my mind is mostly closed to any other alternatives: