PDA

View Full Version : Hi, I'm Bob Gorman

Please visit our sponsor:

BobGorman
04-26-2008, 08:12 PM
I've been studying Aikido for over 50 years. What attracts me to it is the 'ethical' position of protecting the aggressor. This IS the long term solution to violence. When you don't protect the aggressor, you create, unless you kill them, someone who lies in wait for the day when they can & WILL retaliate.

While I have over 30 Aikido books, my absolutely all time favorite is:
Aikido and the dynamic Sphere: An Illustrated Introduction by Adele Westbrook and Oscar Ratti. It contains, in my mind the finest graphical discussion of the ethics of combat, which I've forwarded on to many psychological groups, who struggle daily with personal violence.

Also, it illustrates the techniques in the way that my particular learning style needs, namely energy diagrams. I'm absolutely delighted that is has now come out in a paperback edition, making it available to many more individuals.

But all of this leaves me a bit cold.
If we can put a man on the moon and safely return him to earth we CAN eliminate mental illness as we know it. But first, we must really WANT to do it, just as in Aikido, we must really want to protect the aggressor. And as Aikido points out in addition to WANTing to eliminate it we need the precise techniques to do so. If an attack comes from the right, left, or center, AND above, below, or center we need to respond precisely to that specific attack. The same is true of mental, emotional, and verbal attacks; our response must precisely match the attack!

I Posted this to a psychology forum: