PDA

View Full Version : Healing?

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Xing
01-26-2008, 10:27 PM
Hi all, I'm still a beginner here, ~1 month of classes now.:p

The other day, Wednesday I believe, we were learning Yonkyo I believe? (the sword grip on the ulna nerve) and the next day my arms were quite amazing with multiple black and purple bruises (6 on the right and 3 on the left >_>), it didn't help that on Friday we did Sankyo? (Wrist grip, thumb on the pulse) which made the bruises even bigger xD.

I was wondering, is there an effective method of speeding up the bruising and healing process, or just enough to get rid of the colouring?

I ask this as I work in a sort of health profession (intern) and being summer I'll be wearing short sleeves, and I don't think it's appropriate to greet patients with severe bruises on my arm >_> :(

Thanks.

SeiserL
01-27-2008, 01:12 AM
There are some herbal liniment (like Dit Da Jaw) that are useful. Ice often helps too.

IMHO, if you are bruised too much, ask your training partners to ease up until your arm is a bit more conditioned.

Most of us have gone through this.

Amir Krause
01-27-2008, 01:29 AM
I have never been bruised by greeps, nor seen any of my dojo mates in such a situation. Definitly not after practicing these techniques.

I suggest you make sure it is not indicative of some medical problem you may have (blood clotting ???). Ask your dojo mates if others have a similar situation and if not, go and see a doctor.

Amir

crbateman
01-27-2008, 05:02 AM
Some people are more prone to bruising than others, but if you were such a person, I suspect you would have already been aware of it. However, you cannot "train yourself" to bruise less, so I would consult your doctor if you think it is excessive.

John Connolly
01-27-2008, 06:43 AM