PDA

View Full Version : Hi!

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

yogachick
12-31-2007, 07:56 PM
Hi!

I know this must seem like a New Years Resolution kind of thing, but it isn't - I've been researching different MA for months now, and have finally settled on Aikido, which has been recommended to me by several people at my yoga studio. Also, having watched some documentaries and reading some books, I have to say, I really like the idea of Aikido.

Hmmmm.... let's see.... I'm 25 and have been teaching yoga for almost 3 years now, practicing since I was a teenager. I have a background in Eastern Philosophy/Religion, and see the Eastern Arts like yoga and martial arts as a lifestyle, not just something to do but something to be, if that makes sense.

Actually, I have to say, your forums here on aikiweb, though filled with some crazyness, helped me to choose aikido out of all the many possibilities. As a yoga instructor, I relate a lot to some of the discussions on teaching, and I found the "instructors dating students" posts - i dunno, at the risk of offending ppl - mildly entertaining (tho a few posts I found disturbing), as i've been there as a yoga instructor/student. Also, I found your discussions on what Aikido means, not just on the mat, but off the mat as well, incredibly helpful in deciding on Aikido as a path - I think I can learn a lot from this practice/art/philosophy.

Anyway, I've found a studio with a sensei who has an incredible bio here in, though I haven't met him yet, and I won't attend class till a little bit into the new year. I can't wait to incorporate Aikido into my conciousness/life in the years to come, and I thank you all for introducing me to something I know will be wonderful.

Peace,
Emily