PDA

View Full Version : Training Plateau

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Don
09-06-2007, 06:02 PM
I would like some opinions, and particularly from those who have trained a long time. I've been training for 14 years now, nidan for several years, assistant instructing for 4 or 5. As I would guess with most aikido schools, except those in very large metropolitan areas, our school is small, has mostly beginners more or less, not many staying to first kyu or beyond, lots of turnover, and we don't have class every day because we all have day jobs.

My problem is that I find myself exploring various subtle and more advanced aspects of aikido (or at least thinking about them and WANTING to explore them!). However, with only a few advanced students and instruction, I find it hard to do that. And because the bulk of our students are relative newcomers, even our advanced classes tend to be skewed to their levels.

This is very frustrating and is causing me to derive less enjoyment from training. And it speaks to a larger problem which Leydard sensei has spoken to; namely relatively fewer and fewer students reaching really master level and having those real subtle aspects mastered. The obvious consequence is that the art loses probably vital aspects.

I know there is much much more to learn, but I feel like I am not going to ever get there.

Any suggestions on how to overcome this problem would be appreciated.

Derek
09-06-2007, 06:56 PM
Don,

There comes a point as you progress where your home school can't offer all the advanced training you may seek. What to do?

First, I find that I can explore several advanced points and fine points with the lower ranks. I don't necessarily explain what I am doing with them, although I sometimes do, as long as I can keep them safe.