PDA

View Full Version : Aikido does work in a fight and withsomeone unarmed

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Rhino2693
07-14-2007, 12:10 PM
I keep hearing that aikido does not work in a fight or if someone is unarmed....neither of these is true. When someone throws a punch, it can be treated the same as if someone is trying to stab you with a knife. This is very basic but it works...simply catch their arm or hand while twisting and redirecting their arm. If done correctly, you can either have complete control of the attacker or in a more advanced version knock them out all in one motion.

Rhino2693
07-14-2007, 12:53 PM
will some one someone with expierence in aikido please post just to see if i am accurate, i am only a beginner, and not even in a class.

jennifer paige smith
07-14-2007, 01:10 PM
I keep hearing that aikido does not work in a fight or if someone is unarmed....neither of these is true. When someone throws a punch, it can be treated the same as if someone is trying to stab you with a knife. This is very basic but it works...simply catch their arm or hand while twisting and redirecting their arm. If done correctly, you can either have complete control of the attacker or in a more advanced version knock them out all in one motion.

As to the technique as you describe above(not that aikido doesn't work blah,blah,blah):
In theory, this is true. In practice,it depends on the person.