PDA

View Full Version : Aikidoka attacks

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

rgfox5
06-08-2007, 01:07 PM
First, a little bit about my martial arts background. I spent 10 years doing Tang Soo Do, to shodan level. Then I started aikido, I have been doing aikido for 12 years, shodan level (testing for nidan soon I hear). I have been boxing for about 4 months.

I am becoming more and more disenchanted with aikido. I think that the main reason is that the skill and intensity of attacks generally on the mat is so terrible. Notice I said generally - there are a few exceptions. It simply is not realistic and not challenging. Especially after dealing with boxers in the ring. Sure, the level of defense reached on our mat is sufficient to handle say, a drunken fool at a bar, or a regular hothead on the street, but there is no way, given a skillful and intense attack, that 95% of the aikidoka on our mat would survive.

I personally have chosen to go from practicing aikido 4 times a week to practicing twice a week and going to the boxing gym 4 times a week, simply because it is more challenging, dynamic, and fun. The set routine of uke and nage with single attacks, no counters, is simply not fun anymore.

What to do? People are not going to stop leaving their arms extended after a punch or shomen. People are not going to stop their lame attacks, because they never get any serious attack training. Aikido is structured the way it is so that people can learn the movement and need uke to cooperate in order to do that, I understand. But doesn't there need to be some level where this cooperation is no longer done? It seems to me that some kind of sparring needs to be introduced. But maybe the nature of aikido joint locks and throws is such that the level of injuries sustained would be prohibitive. Certainly in boxing without the gloves serious and/or fatal damage would happen frequently.