PDA

View Full Version : Giving Suggestions to Beginners

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

willis0890
03-29-2007, 11:44 AM
I am new to Aikido so any Training tips exereses or meditating tips would be greatly Appreciated

akiy
03-29-2007, 11:57 AM
Hi William,

You may want to try using the search engine (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/search.php) in these forums to look for specific tips regarding training.

Otherwise, do you have any specific questions?

-- Jun

DonMagee
03-29-2007, 12:04 PM
Biggest tip I've ever received.

Don't take this so seriously. Your doing this for recreation remember?

Larry Cuvin
03-29-2007, 12:09 PM
Relax and enjoy the training. Don't worry about names of the different techniques right now. Everything will fall into place eventually.

SeiserL
03-29-2007, 12:16 PM
Relax.
Breathe.
Enjoy yourself.
(All easier said than done.)

Welcome.

willis0890
03-29-2007, 12:16 PM
Yay that is a big main thing I was wondering how am i going to remember all the names of the techniques thx for the help:)

Talon
03-29-2007, 12:26 PM
The names of the techniques will become natural to you in time. I don't have to think about those names at all.. I just simply know them. This comes in time.

DonMagee
03-29-2007, 12:35 PM
I use flashcards.

Seriously. I have flashcards for judo with Japanese, then English, and a picture. My wife holds up the card with the picture, I tell her the throw, she asks me what it is in the other language. So names on back, pictures on front. I also watch vids on youtube and write down what techniques I think are being done. I just pause it at random and try to identify the hold/throw/lock/etc being performed. To take this a step further, I try to figure out what is wrong with the technique.