PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from South Australia.

Please visit our sponsor:

guest94283
03-11-2007, 09:10 PM
G'Day,
I don't know where to start, I guess a quick intro will help ;)

I am an 18 year old male (180cm, 64Kg)living in South Australia, I am studying Software Development and working nightfill. I have only really played volleyball briefly, I've never been very good at groups but lately I feel more comfortable about joining a MA or Sport.

http://kde-online.com.au.tt/wtfbbq.JPG
Don't ask me what this photo was about O_O ... I was just trying to look strong, but you can see it didn't work :o :o ;)

I have been intensively reading up on many different styles of MA for the last few days. When I registered on this forum yesterday I was determined that Aikikai Aikido was the MA for me, but come today and the reading of more threads I am questioning that decision.

Basically as it stands I am looking at TJJ, Aikikai Aikido, Yoshinkan Aikido and BJJ. I am sure people will suggest some other styles and my list will grow back up to encompass pretty much every MA out there.
I love the principle of using the attackers energy against them hence why I am looking at the MA's that I am. It just seems so much more smooth than bashing the crap out of them will all my force (which isn't much), so stuff like Muay Tai etc.. seem to be out of my focus.

In terms of what I want to achieve:

I don't ever plan on getting into a street fight but the ability to defend myself untill I can "get away" is an objective of mine. I don't want to be a lethal weapon or anything I just want to defend myself.
I also want to keep fit and feel like I have some "strength" under my belt. Which is the problem I see with Aikido. It'sn't the most physically demanding MA (as I see it). You may think my appreaciation of using the attackers energy against them goes against this point and I guess it kinda does.

Dojos available here:

Adelaide Aikido [Aikikai]- http://www.aikidoadelaide.net/