PDA

View Full Version : Without Physical Contact

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

SamuraiJim
03-02-2007, 06:19 PM
Hi All

I'm training in a style called Aikido Yuishinkai and was watching a training DVD purchased through my club. In a number of techniques it appeared to me that there was not actual contact between nage and uke.

It appeared to me that uke would rush in to attack and then simply take a fall in the direction motioned by nage. I can appreciate that an aggressor would be relucant to run into a block or strike but it seemed to my untrained eye that even if they did there would be little negative effect.

I'm very new to Aikido and understand that I have a great deal to learn. But I was wondering what makes these techniques effective and if they would really work in a real life situation when forced to defend yourself.

Your insight is greatly appreciated.

Cheers
SamuraiJim

gdandscompserv
03-02-2007, 07:15 PM
Not to familiar with the style but this video:
http://www.aikidoyuishinkai.com/SeminarSample.wmv
and this one:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LbFfzRFw1I
looks like pretty normal "touch" aikido to me.

SeiserL
03-02-2007, 08:33 PM
IMHO, most throws without physical contact are (1) total fakes due to an overly compliant uke, or (2) well timed movement by tori/nage that make uke lose balance.

SamuraiJim
03-04-2007, 12:25 AM
Thanks Ricky and Thanks Lynn. I value your input.

I've not heard of "touch" Aikido before - I'm guessing it's a technique that only requires the most minimal of contact to unbalance your opponent.

The techniques I'm trying to describe aren't really throws there more like movements which cause the aggressor to move defensively into a position which is off balance and hence causes them to fall.

I really wish I could show you what I mean. Wouldn't it be consider ill-mannered to ask my Sensei about the process and principles behind these moves?

Cheers
SamuraiJim