PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a noob in Cambridge, MA

Please visit our sponsor:

AmandaGareis
02-07-2007, 05:20 PM
Hi there!

So, I studied seido karate for about a year a few years back, but eventually dropped it, mostly for money reasons, but a lot of other things as well. Then I started ballet as an adult, but again, after about a year of 3 or 4x a week training, I ended up getting a sprain and then a sinus infection (no balance!) which kept me out of class. Then new medicines added 30 lbs to my frame. I still look okay in clothes, but those tights are heartbreaking! :crazy: I haven't gone back yet.

But I need to exercise. I hate the gym and machines and I loved and craved the dicipline and pacing of a ballet or karate class. I also loved that focused "monkey-see/monkey-do, then monkey evolves and grows" aspect of both arts. You do what you are told, and then you start to learn on the inside what your muscles are being instructed in on the outside. Both arts were a haven for my rattling ADD-riddled over-stuffed pre-med mind.