PDA

View Full Version : What is appropriate?

Please visit our sponsor:

billybob
12-21-2006, 04:15 PM
I am 43, quite bright analytically (I have a Master of Arts Degree) and as socially clueless as one can be and still hold down a job.

When I did my BA degree we listened to professors lecture, and then were Expected to ask probing questions, and even attempt to prove some of the professor's points wrong. If we failed to ask questions we were prodded - institutionally they believed we simply were not learning if we failed to challenge them.

***My question is this - is it appropriate for me to openly disagree with someone I know to have superior rank and experience? Is there a special formula by which I can show the respect (I truly and deeply have) for these people, and then ask the most probing questions I can come up with? If Not - if this forum would be better left to those with a certain level of experience, and just read by people like me - then please tell me.

I do NOT want to make enemies. That happens as I walk through life anyway. I sincerely ask the guidance of this on-line community.

David Knowlton, aka billybob

DonMagee
12-21-2006, 04:20 PM
I think the method you are describing is the healthiest way you can learn. However, most traditional martial artists will probably not agree with you. If you find one who does, train under him.

Cady Goldfield
12-21-2006, 04:43 PM
This is a problem of the Western Mind. ;)
In traditional Eastern cultures, one never questions one's senior, and only does what he is told to do. It's very much a rote approach that is meant to ingrain basic movements and actions. In the West, analytical thought and questioning is usually encouraged and expected. We tend to overthink everything, which can be detrimental to learning physical skills or a fundamental philosophy and way of thought.