PDA

View Full Version : Type III ac separation and aikido

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Shipley
11-26-2006, 04:47 PM
Nope, I didn't get it doing aikido (went over the bars on my bike when I blew a biggish jump (yes, I know that at 37 I shouldn't be doing jumps (Silly Paul, jumps are for kids!))).

Anyhow, it's done and I'm wondering how it has effected other's training. I know that I won't be training for a couple of months, and may even take the month off of teaching, but I'm wondering more about the long term. If anybody has had experience with this injury, and how it affects your ability to take ukemi, or anything else, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Many thanks,

Paul

mikeym
11-26-2006, 11:26 PM
I got the same injury in Judo. I was a student at Stanford at the time and I saw the surgeon who treats the Stanford football team, who recommended against surgery. I had some pretty intensive physical therapy starting from a week or so after the injury. I was told that it's bad to immobilize the joint, so they took my arm out of the sling very quickly, it seemed to me. I was supposed to avoid doing things which hurt, but other than that could do anything I wanted to.

Recovery (for me) was very slow. After 3 or 4 months I could do everything around the house and could take ukemi as normal, but my shoulder still hurt when I lifted weights. It took about a year for that to stop, at which point I considered myself healed.

At this point the only lasting impact is that I have a bump on my shoulder. I'm stronger now than I was before the injury, and I have the full range of motion in that shoulder. I don't know what the effects will be as I get older, although I suspect that there is a higher likelihood of getting arthritis or something similar in that shoulder.